Kampong Chhnang is one of the central provinces in the kingdom of Cambodia. It is adjacent to the provinces of Kampong Thong, Kampong Cham, Kampong Speu, Kandal, and Pursat. Kampong Chhnang city is the capital of Kampong Chhnang province.

This is a small province which is 91 km from the capital of Phnom Penh. It is located in the center of the country where it is drained by the Tonle Sap Lake, a tributary of the Mekong river. The capital of Phnom Penh has grown until it encompasses the provincial border of this province.

The name of Kampong Chhnang means “Port of Pottery” in the Khmer language. In history, this land is related to many other findings artifacts from Dvaravati, which was a former kingdom in Thailand nowadays existed from the 6th century to 11th century.

The province of Kampong Chhnang used to be a coastal city on the route between China and India. When the Mekong river changed its flowing direction, the city lost its water source and was deserted. Then, the residents of the city moving to a city called Kampong Tralach, and Kampong Chhnang lost its central position.

The province of Kampong Chhnang is divided into 8 districts. Each district is further divided into communes and villages. In the entire province, there are 65 communes and 478 villages, whereas it has 1 city and 14 townships. As its central location, this province is one of the largest city in the country which plays an important role in terms of economy, culture, society in the country.